winter wonders and blunders

January, although not quite over, has been a roller coaster.

Equally good and bad things have transpired over the course of these short 23 days.  I am so excited to finally have my house in order.  My holiday decorations are cleaned up, I did some redecorating and also made some major purchases.  I feel like I am finally on track to start making the home I want to live in, and transitioning from bringing in new, real furniture to cleaning out all of the old things I owned from college.  It’s both exciting and sad to be letting go of the past, and embracing the future to come.

I am also happy to announce that I have finally found a yoga studio.  Actually, whether it’s wrong or not, I found two.  And I feel for both I might be able to do their new member trials and decide which I like better.  Hopefully that’s not taboo.  I am so enthusiastic to start this.  It is long overdue.  The yoga dvds that I bought from Target so long ago, that I’ve ben doing in my living room for the last two years are not cutting it anymore.  The time has come to venture out, and to be brave and just do it.  So I’ve begun.

I am also feeling much more confident in my future job change.  I sent out a resume to be looked over by a friend in the industry, and the future prospects of my current job are looking so slim there really doesn’t seem to be anything to miss.  Things are just not looking good out there for teachers in my district.  But, bright hopes for the future await.

But, the blunders.  It seems for every action, there is an equal and opposite reaction.  Beside the awful fight Jeremy and I got into this month, which was near relationship ending, and the most horrifying experience of my life, I have to say that things just seem overall stressful.  It seems that everything I have been doing for the last 23 days has left a weight on my shoulders.  Work has been hard.  I have kids who are not stepping up to the plate, and that makes my job much more difficult.  The changes happening in the workplace for next year make me all too happy to be acting upon this career change.  The planning, grading and day to day for my job has left me exhausted.  And things in daily life too.

Perhaps it’s the weather.  It’s been blistering cold here in Wisconsin, snowing on and off and everything freezing all the time, but I feel this added pressure to everything I do.  Things are getting done, slowly, but the hours I put in for one single day are starting to wear on me slowly.  I think this focus on yoga is coming at a perfect time.

I will forge onward.  February holds high hopes of relaxation, more enjoyment of my books, and a renewed motivation to continue finishing out the school year.  I have been mostly unmotivated to write; finding that I’ve been focusing so much more on reading.  Not a bad trade off.  I’ve been cooking more, and mostly enjoying things.  I am hoping for a fancy and fun February.

This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to winter wonders and blunders

  1. yogibattle says:

    That is great you found a yoga studio. Yoga has brought me so much peace throughout the years!

  2. Gede Prama says:

    Thank you friend for sharing this article quite interesting, hopefully we all get real happiness yamg rays began to warm our hearts and make the heart glad, when we can share it with sincere to each other. Affectionate greetings from Gede Prama 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

