hot yoga

I have recently cashed in my Christmas gift from Jeremy and signed up for a month of classes at a Yoga studio.  I went with a recommendation from a friend, although I am not afraid to admit I will most likely be Yoga hopping.  There is another place I’d really like to try.

The first class was…terrible.  So terrible in fact, that I cried my eyes out.  Jeremy went with me, and he was amazing.  Not in the amazing flexible way, because at that he was not so good, but amazing that he made it through the whole class and did every pose.  I know he’s done it before, but it’s been months!  I mean, I thought for sure if he could do it, I could most certainly do it.

Alas, I was an embarrassment.  I didn’t even make it through the warm up.  I consider myself a flexible person, and a limber person, but what got me was the heat.  They tell you hot yoga will be hot…duh, but they don’t really tell you how hot.  I was not prepared for what that would feel like.  I laid down on my mat about 30 minutes in and never got up again.  I was angry, embarrassed, disappointed, and it was the strangest sensation of my life.  Waves of feelings just came at me in that heat, and I wasn’t really prepared with how to deal with it.  So, when we walked out, I cried.  And (although I admit this reluctantly) I am glad Jeremy was there.

But today I braved it went back again.  I didn’t feel defeated on Saturday.  I felt rather empowered.  Like, Jenni, you should be in better shape, you should have your life more together, and you are going to come back and you are going to do this.  So I went tonight.  It was a dramatic change from Saturday to today.  I knew what to expect, and I knew what I needed to do.  And I did it.  The only pose I didn’t do was the camel pose, because I was feeling a little light headed and the thought of basically being upside down at that moment didn’t seem like such a good idea.  But I made it through the entire class.  And I was proud of myself.  Truly.

Yoga is not what I expected.  I did not expect my body to feel so demanded.  I thought it was a bunch of stretches and you should just feel really good when you’re done.  Not entirely so.  Yes, I feel amazing when I’m done, and nice and stretched out, but my body is sore and tired, and sweaty.  The simple act of lifting my leg makes me exhausted in that class.  It was not something I was prepared for.  But it feels awesome.  And I can honestly say that so far, I love it.

So, if you’re looking for something good to do with your body, and some way to try to get back into shape, try Yoga.  It’s definitely worth it.  And if you go hot yoga, be warned:  it’s hot!

photo

This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to hot yoga

  1. I can’t do camel either! It truly is odd how emotional you can get during yoga.

Leave a Reply

