the deed is done.

I apologize right off the bat for being missing in action these last couple weeks.  Life has created another roller coaster that has just been far too out of control this time.  Details are unimportant and boring, but there is about to be several major shifts in my life.

The first of which is I finally did it!  I quit my job, and am going to be moving to Chicago with Jeremy.  Truth be told, I quit my job before spring break and our Nashville trip, but I hadn’t told my family yet.  I know how this whole internet thing works where once you post it, it’s out there.  Needless to say, the news had to come straight from the horses mouth, and after it was said, they definitely thought I was an ass.

My parents are definitely not ok with this life change, and definitely not ok with me quitting my job.  The funny thing is, I think it has nothing to do with Jeremy.  I thought for sure it would be a “you can’t live in sin” conversation like it was 1880, but it turned out to be a conversation (much like I also thought it would be, and the reason for my long silence) about leaving the security of my job for the unknown and the possibility that I will be unemployed.

I know this, family.  I have gone over the pros and cons of all of this already.  The thing is, this is my life, and the only person who can live it is me.  And quite frankly, the quality of it is sub par.  I think that my life has a lot more in store for me than what I am currently operating under.  Although I love to teach, I’m not teaching what I want to be teaching.  It’s really an unhappy existence when you go to work not doing the very thing you want to be doing (as millions of Americans I’m sure already know).  Furthermore, as far as quality of life is concerned, my quality of life is substantially better with Jeremy in it than him being 200 miles away.  This is a non-negotiable.  I am ready to kick start my life with him, and distance is not going to stop us anymore.  Lastly, I know that my parents have not always made the right decision at the right time, but things turned out great for them.  I have incredible faith that this will be no different.  I wish my parents would trust in me a little more, and also have faith that I can make a decision that is going to be a good one for me, not them.

But, it’s happening!  The ball is in motion.  We have begun a bigger and grander adventure than we ever dreamed!  And I can’t wait.

birthday balloon

celebrating at Red Robin with my birthday burger, birthday balloon, and birthday ice cream.

This entry was posted in life, love and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

