the nonstop.

So, it’s been three days in Chicago, and I now understand when they say “the city never sleeps.” I am working on Michigan Avenue, and I take the train into the city every morning at 7:15. Once I’m off the train, I hop in the water taxi, and take it over to work. It’s so wonderful to take a boat ride to work, and enjoy the breeze off the river, see all the beautiful buildings, and just relax. I love it.

Work is going well. I have no idea what the people are saying most of the time, but I think I’m learning. I have the opportunity to plan the May and August board meetings. I have been calling hotels, planning menus, doing budgets, and I think it’s finally all coming together. It’s been fun. It feels like a puzzle; all the pieces need to be put together first, and then combined so you can see the whole picture. It’s been fun so far!

But work goes from 8:45 to 4:45, and then I catch the water taxi and the train back home. I get back around 6:00. It’s a long day.

And don’t get me wrong, living with Jeremy is great, but we don’t have it all figured out yet. We end up grocery shopping everyday, because we haven’t quite got the menus at home done yet. And that takes us so much time! Then dinner, clean up, getting ready for the next day, yikes. There is no rest anymore!

I like the rush. I like the busyness. I’m a little worried I’m going to burn out. I don’t want to die with this job. But for now, things are great. I’m so happy, so excited, and can’t wait for more to come in the future.

20140618-074003-27603564.jpg

This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

