slow cooker pork with roasted pears.

These last two weeks have been crazy busy. I wake up around 6:00 am and am going until about 7:00 every night, and it leaves little time for any actual cooking, let alone relaxing. So, I decided to try to utilize my slow cooker as much as possible. On the menu tonight is a slow cooker pork shoulder with pomegranate sauce, and sliced pears and oranges.

I love the tanginess of pomegranates, but I added a little honey to it, and just warmed it through so I could easily combine the two. And I poured that into my slow cooker.

Then the rub for the butt. I used a little salt, pepper, red pepper flake, garlic powder and steak seasoning and rubbed it into the meat. I then laid it into the slow cooker, on top of my pomegranate sauce.

Finally, to top the whole thing off, I sliced Bosc pears and oranges and laid them on top of the meat. I let it cook for the entire day on low, and dinner was ready when I got home. It was nice for a change, that’s for sure.

I made some mashed potatoes to go with the whole thing, and when I pulled that meat out of baby, it was juicy, moist, tender, and practically falling apart.

The whole meal went together great. The mashed potatoes were creamy and sour. The meat had a little kick from the steak seasoning and the crushed red, and the fruit was sweet on top. The most perfect bit. It was a great meal, enjoyed with great company. I’m going to have to use this slow cooker more often.

20140702-163732-59852360.jpg

This entry was posted in food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to slow cooker pork with roasted pears.

  1. ptang0114 says:

    Love the roasted pears!!!

Leave a Reply

