home made farro oatmeal.

My journey through Anne Burrell’s cookbook continues! Yes, it’s been a long while since I posted anything of value. Work has been so crazy, I get home and literally pass out. And Jeremy is running for office, so the campaign has also taken over so much of my evenings. I am afraid to knock doors and talk to people, so I try to help in other ways.

Anyway, I pulled open the old cookbook again and decided that making my own oatmeal would be the next challenge. Because work has been so crazy, I don’t get a lot of time to eat, so I wanted something fast and easy and filling to get me through the afternoons. And I found it!

What I like about this recipe is that the oatmeal is kind of savory. Imm not a sweets gal, so I appreciate that the base of this is farro, with pumpkin seeds and almond slivers. I added some dried cranberries and apricots for sweetness, and a twinge of sugar, but otherwise, that’s all it is. You cook the farro, add it to a mixture of almonds, coconut and pumpkin seeds, mixed with a honey and olive oil dressing and bake away!

I do really like it. I can eat it dry or mix it with milk. It feels more like a musli cereal to me, but it’s delicious. I think f I make it again though, I’ll sub the pumpkin seeds with sunflower seeds. The pumpkin seeds get pretty hard in the oven, and eating them becomes a chore.

I’m trying to eat a little healthier, so this was my new lunch option. I’ve really fallen off the band wagon with this working out business, so I’ve decided that a major change in diet has to happen. If I cant always work out, I at least need to fuel my body right.

Happy Eating!

This entry was posted in food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

