classroom.

I have completed my second day of school, and I am having such a good time. Westfield Middle School is so much smaller than Glacier Creek was. It’s about half the size, and it’s so strange to see the entire eighth grade class fit in a small gym. I’m used to twice as many kids.

So far, I’ve been introduced just about every class period, no one can understand my name, and I feel very awkward standing in the back of a classroom doing nothing. But I know it takes time for people to get to know me, and for me to get to know the teachers I’m working with and learn their style. But I’m a go-getter. I don’t do well with no responsibility. I don’t do well with nothing to do. Today finally felt like a small breakthrough, and I was back in my happy place working with kids and in the classroom. It took me about half the day to come out of my shell and get involved. It feels like a long time since I’ve done this. In reality, it’s about four months. I forget how to talk to kids, and how to interact with them. It takes a little while to get back in the swing of things.

But today was so much fun. I LOVE being in my English classes. I wish there were more. I only get about two a day, and one sixth grade class where we are working on some reading stuff. I do mostly science, it feels like. I love both, so it’s fun, but being in that English classroom and talking about books, themes, characters, plot, story development, language, and conflict gets me going. I’m stoked to be able to be a part of that.

I’ve missed the attitude of kids.  I’ve missed pushing the boundaries and blurring the lines.  I’ve missed their curiosity, and their sense of humor.  I’ve missed laughing and joking and teaching.  It’s good to be back.

This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to classroom.

  1. emtag2 says:

    You come across much more mature than your average school kid! And you write better than most, too. Keep enjoying English class – it will be your best memory of school 🙂

Leave a Reply

