risotto challenge.

I am an avid watcher of all things food on television. I cant even tell you how many times I’ve seen chefs create risotto dishes and thought I could never do it. And in the moment of complete self doubt, I reminded myself what I would say to one of my students if they said that: “you never know unless you try.”

So I found a recipe from the all powerful Pinterest and grocery shopped away! I found that it requires surprisingly few ingredients to make, and that makes me a happy girl. I went with a butternut squash risotto, because it’s fall and I consume as much butternut squash as humanly possible. And although the rice wasn’t cheap, the lack of ingredients, and my knowledge about risotto, I spent the extra dollar.

And do you know what? It turns out risotto is not that hard to make. The hardest part is the patience required. Ih man, is it worth the wait.

I watched my small grains of rice get plumper and plumper and the whole concoction get creamier and creamier. I could see the starches coming out, and the rice thickening and all the things they say should happen. And it was marvelous. It was an experience I’ve never had with food before, and it was amazing. I enjoyed every painstaking moment, and every quality control check!!

The entire dish turned out great. Jeremy and I ate like kings. And it is something I will make again and again in different combinations and flavors.

Check out my small life accomplishment:

IMG_2994.JPG

IMG_2995.JPG

IMG_2998.JPG

This entry was posted in food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

