butternut squash risotto.

As an obsessive watcher of all things cooking shows, I have often seen people making risotto.  I have often also heard them commenting on how time consuming, difficult, and patience sensitive it is.  I have always been afraid to try it.  I always thought it was above my skill level, and would require me to do something crazy in the kitchen.

In the spirit of trying new things, and facing new challenges, I decided that the time was right.  I planned on making butternut squash risotto, a simpler recipe I found on the greatest gift to human-kind:  Pinterest.  I had an extra butternut squash at home, which I bought because it was so cheap this fall.  I love butternut squash.  It is sweet, and filling, and just so wonderful anyway you cook it.  I thought, “This will be cinchy!  I’ll just take my time and work on it all afternoon!”

And I did!  I followed all the directions to a T!  There are sometimes recipes that I cook that require a million ingredients, and can be so expensive to actually make.  I might make risotto all the time now!  It is literally chicken stock, rice, and your filling. and this one was simply onion, garlic, butternut squash, and Parmesan cheese.

Needless to say, I learned not to doubt myself, and my skills.  But I also learned a new appreciation for the people on these cooking shows.  A show like Chopped, and people attempting this in 30 minutes really is something awesome.  When it works, it’s phenomenal.  I have enormous respect for these people when I watch this stuff now.

 

Take a minute to check out the pictures.  It was a lot of fun, and holy wonderfully delicious:

starting outstarting out, plain white arborio rice, onions and garlic.

roasted squashroasted butternut squash, Parmesan cheese, and a little scallion garnish waiting…

step twostarting to add the chicken stock; the rice grains are starting to get bigger and the whole thing is starting to get creamier.

step threelook how big the rice grains are now.  as the moisture leaves, it starts to thicken and it smelled amazing!

finsihed!and…the finished product.  it was delicious, rich, and filling.  i highly recommend it!

This entry was posted in food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

