the wait has come to an end.

The end of this week turned out to be a whirlwind.  Thursday, I was pulled from class after second hour, and told I wasn’t allowed to be in the classroom anymore.  The Regional Office of Education did a compliance visit to our school, and since my license in Illinois hasn’t come through yet, I’m still considered in violation of teaching without a license.  Keep in mind, I took care of everything needed on my end in September.  So I’ve been waiting for the State of Illinois for over 150 days.  Not my fault.

Either way, it was a devastating blow, and I wasn’t really sure how to handle it.  I tried my best to be positive, and be as helpful as I possibly could.  I was pretty much helping teachers with anything they needed that didn’t include working with the kids.  So, it was a really slow final two days to the week.  Friday I missed shooting off the catapults.  A big bummer.

As you can imagine, I didn’t take this lying down.  I was on the phone immediately to Jeremy, seeing if he could call down to Springfield for me, and I was on the phone calling Springfield myself.  We finally, after two days, got someone to take a look at my file and see about getting my license approved.

AND WE DID!  So, officially I have my endorsements!  There is still some work for me to do before the license is absolutely official, but I’m so happy, because I can finally get back in the classroom next week and get back to work.  And, at the end of the year, I’ll officially be hirable, so hopefully there will be opportunities in my future for a job.

Complications aside, I am, after much heartache and (quite frankly) bullshit, almost an official Illinois licensed teacher!

Cheers!

This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

