sleep soundly.

When I moved down to Illinois, there are some things I had to leave at home when I came down.  One of those things was my mattress.  When I moved to Madison and was living alone, I bought myself a nice Tempur Pedic like bed (not officially a Tempur Pedic, but same technology, and equally as comfortable).

It was a tough break for me.  My bed had been my sanctuary, and the warmest place in my very cold apartment.  And it was like sleeping on a cloud.  You mold yourself right into the mattress, and it just holds you there comfortably, like a swaddled baby.  I loved my mattress.

But, it was a big thing to move over state lines.  And since we didn’t really have a truck or a rental vehicle, I decided it was easier to just take back home.  Thus, I was left to sleep on Jeremy’s mattress.  Now, this mattress has a long story.  Jeremy finally bought himself a real bed when he moved to the suburbs, and in turn, needed to buy a new mattress.  He picked one out that was so hard, it felt like we were sleeping on a board.  I complained every time I came to visit.  It was terrible. And after a week of sleeping on it, Jeremy took it back for the next hardest bed.  Why, my friends, are we choosing to stick with a firm mattress when clearly the first one was not working for us?  I don’t know the answer to that question, but I did not argue with a man and his bed.

We’ve been sleeping on this second to firmest mattress for a year now.  Jeremy complains that his back hurts, and his hips hurt, and I won’t even get started on how I feel about it.  After sleeping on a cloud, this is a big step backward.

When 2015 came around, I put my foot down.  I told him I was not going to be sleeping on that God awful mattress that we both hate.  So, this weekend, we drove up to West Bend, and exchanged mattresses for my lovely, soft, comfortable sleeper.  And last night, we both slept like babies.

There are very few times I feel like I know what the best thing is, but I’ve known that this is the right answer since Jeremy exchanged that mattress.  And as we laid in bed last night, and Jeremy sighed after find complete comfort, I just basked in my own glory.  There will be many good nights sleeps in my future.  I’m just sad it took me this long to finally make the decision.

This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

