flank steak with chimichurri sauce.

Jeremy and I have been looking for ways to spice up our romantic lives. With no pun intended, we decided that cooking each other dinner more would be a fun way to do it. I, obviously, love to cook and have a wild passion for food. Jeremy loves to cook as well (but mostly eat), and although it happens rarely, he’s pretty good at it.

He approached me with the idea last week, wondering if it would be fun to plan out our own meals, shop for them, and then cook and serve each other a fee nights a week. I was intrigued by the idea. I know he’s trying to help me a little more around the house, but I also think this is his way of being a little romantic with me. I said yes.

Before you get too ahead of yourselves, we aren’t going completely overboard. We planned the meals out together (what if we cooked the same thing? Sometimes we are freaky in-sync like that), and we did do the shopping together, so it’s not as wild as it sounds. The fun comes in the cooking, and the being served anyway.

So, today was my turn. I decided on a new recipe. I made. cilantro lime marinated flank steak with a chimichurri sauce. As a side I went with roasted potatoes, and noted that next time it might be better to do a cauliflower/parsnip puree.

I did find this recipe on Pinterest, just so credit goes where it is due, but I did have to doctor it up a bit for lack of all the correct ingredients.

The Marinade:
1/3 cup soy sauce
1/3 cup olive oil
1 Tbs sesame oil
juice if two limes
Three cloves of garlic (minced)
a handful of cilantro
pinch of sugar
sprinkle of red pepper flakes

Add all the ingredients together. Marinade for a few hours. Bring to room temperature before cooking.

The Chimichurri:
half a jalapeno (seeds, no seeds…you pick your spice level)
half an onion
one clove of garlic

Add the three ingredients in a food processor and pulse until chopped.

Add a handful of parsley, and a handful of cilantro and pulse again until chopped.

Finally, add in a tablespoon of coriander, a tablespoon of cumin, a tablespoon of salt, the juice of another lime and turn on your food processor. Slowly add about a half cup of olive oil.

My substitutions:
I had no jalapeno. I used another pinch of red pepper flakes and sriracha. I also had no parsley, so I used spinach.

Altogether it turned out great! And it was absolutely delicious. If we hadn’t gotten 24 inches of snow yesterday, it would have been even better cooked on the grill.

IMG_3307-0

IMG_3308

So we started off with Jeremy feasting, but later this week he’ll be the one cooking. And ladies, there is nothing sexier than that. So, until Thursday, I’m going to enjoy my wine, and bask in another culinary victory. And I look forward to later in the week when I get to be wined and dined.

This entry was posted in food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

