chicken fajitas.

Mexican food is not often cooked in my household.  I’m not the biggest fan of it, and I don’t often put it on the menu.  I like certain things about it, but rarely will you hear me suggest Mexican for dinner if we’re going out.

However, there are a few things I do like about making Mexican food.  It always has a bold flavor.  Like, I’m going to hit you in the side of the head with what I’ve got going on between this tortilla.  And, it usually uses pretty healthy ingredients.  More often than not. I like to make it myself, but there definitely is a finesse and skill to Mexican cooking.

Well, tonight I made chicken fajitas.  I had left over tortillas, and chicken was on sale!  So, here we go!

I started by marinading my chicken in some olive oil, chili powder, onion powder, pepper, cumin, and paprika.  I let it sit for a while on the counter.

I also cut up green and red peppers, and one onion.  I’m soaking the onion in water, hoping it’s going to take out some of that really dominating oniony taste.  I want the flavors of the marinade and other veggies to come through.

photo 1

photo 2

After I left the chicken to marinade for a little while, I cooked the chicken almost all the way through.

photo 3

I removed the chicken from the plan and set it on a plate.  I added the onions to the same saute pan that I cooked the chicken in.  I cooked those for a few minutes, until they were a little softened and then added my peppers. I added a little salt and pepper, and I added a small pinch of cayenne.  Jeremy likes spicy food, but you can always leave that out.

I let the veggies cook down until they were nice and soft.

photo 1-1

And finally, I added the chicken back into the pan, and let it all cook together until the chicken pieces were cooked through.

Processed with VSCOcam with c1 preset

On nights where we eat food that qualifies as finger food (meaning I don’t have to set out silverware), it tends to always be “serve yourself.”  I set up my own little fajita bar, and it was time to eat up.

It was a delicious dinner.  Lots of fun, and definitely easy to make.

Chicken Fajitas:

Marinate your chicken:

1 tablespoon olive oil
1 teaspoon chili powder
1/2 teaspoon cumin
1/2 teaspoon pepper
1/2 teaspoon paprika

Cut up your onion, and soak it in cold water.  Cut up your peppers (a variety of peppers makes a prettier looking fajita).

Cook your chicken pieces in a pan.  Cook them until just about cooked through, and then remove them from the pan and set aside.  Add the drained onions and peppers into the pan and cook until softened.  Add the chicken back to the pan and heat until cooked through.

Serve up on tortillas, with your choice of extra toppings, and enjoy!

This entry was posted in food and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

