fish outta water.

So often I use this blog as a medium to communicate to you, and partly to myself, my successes and accomplishments.  It lets me reflect on the good things happening in my life, instead of the constant record playing of things I could do better, or things going wrong, or things….

There I go.  But, today I have a failure to share.  Jeremy and I have tried this cooking for each other thing, instead of me cooking all the meals.  I am learning to like it. It only makes me responsible for two meals a week, instead of all of them.  My grocery list is more concise, I find I take more risks in trying my own recipes, and I just feel a lot less stress.  Until tonight.

Tonight I attempted to make a pistachio lime crusted salmon (I’m on a lime kick I think).  I tried this from a recipe I found on Pintrest.  Now, the recipe didn’t tell me exactly how to make this pistachio and lime tapenade/spread for the salmon, but I figured it was just pulsed up in a food processor, and spread on top.  Seemed easy enough.  The ingredients were few, and the directions very simple.

And something went very wrong.  I will spare you all the pictures of what looked like baby poop encrusted salmon.  I followed the recipe to a T, but the topping was so cloyingly sweet I had to remove it.  The only good thing about the meal was the roasted asparagus.  It was a nightmare, a mess, a true failure.  Jeremy took it like a champ and ate his fair share, but I know he was only humoring me.  The nicest thing about him, is even if I totally mess up, he eats it all, with a smile on his face, and doesn’t ever say anything.

But I know the truth.  It was horrendous.  Chances are most likely I made a mistake along the way, but it’s definitely not a recipe I will try again.  I enjoy a simpler version of salmon; something fresh and lemony so I can enjoy the taste of the fish itself.  But, I digress.  Folks.  I failed.  And I’m ok with it.  Forward progress.

Sorry you had to eat that, Jeremy.  You’re a trooper, and I love you for it.
Cheers, and happier eating to you all.

This entry was posted in food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

