study, study, study.

My online classes are underway!  I have never taken an online class before, but since Illinois says that I have to, I have started.  I’m taking a course in Bilingual Teaching Methods, and I’m not sure how I feel about it yet.

On the one hand, it is a large chunk of my life that is now being consumed with reading, writing, thinking, and doing homework assignments.  It’s really amazing how quickly your free time dwindles when something takes over.  I also am a little bit bitter, because this class doesn’t necessarily focus on learning English, so much as it focuses on second language acquisition.  Well folks, I taught German for three years.  I’ve been in the midst of teaching a second language to students for years.  I feel a little cheated that I’m supposed to take this class.  But, what can you do?

However, I’m really actually enjoying using my brain in a way I haven’t for the last five years.  This class requires deep thought, and self reflection, and to talk with other professionals about their thoughts and opinions and experiences from all around the country.  Some of them are undergrads, and still full of youthful optimism about teaching and all the theories it provides (ha), but it’s exciting to give them a real life look into how the classroom really operates (I’m not being negative about this either.  Teaching books are full of theory on how to teach, much like parenting books are full of theory on how to parent.  Those ideas are all great, until you are thrown into the situation and then all that theory tends to get thrown out the window.  But it’s interesting to read).

Needless to say, I finished my first assignment of the week.  I had to create some graphics on different theories and models of second language acquisition.  I was excited to let my creative self take over and do something kind of fun and different.  It was actually kind of fun.

So tonight, I am celebrating the completion of my first assignment by letting Jeremy do the dishes, and making time to write.  I think that’s the best way to celebrate pretty much anything.

Good evening, all!  And happy start of my school year.

This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

