jar salads.

So after my cooking class, and with my motivation to stay in shape, I have decided I need to also need to take a closer look at what I’m eating. I really liked the idea of these jar salads, which I have poo-pooed in the past. For some reason, I’m ready to try them.

I bought everything I needed for a delicious, crunchy salad. I got garbanzo beans, goat cheese, cucumbers, peppers and tomatoes. I got some beautiful red lettuce for the top. It’s very exciting.

But, my pride and joy of the salad making was the vinaigrette. I made a roasted garlic vinaigrette. I want something strong, and bold, and make me more excited to eat a salad for lunch.

IMG_3343

The salads can be anything you’d like. You can go greek with tomatoes, olives, and feta. Or you can go Mexican with cheddar cheese, tomatoes, and jalapeños. The salad choice is completely up to you.

But, here is the recipe for the garlic vinaigrette:

2 heads of garlic, roasted for 25 minutes in a 400 degree oven. Cloves squeezed out when cooled.

In a food processor, combine:
1/4 cup apple cider vinegar
1/2 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon pepper
2 tablespoons honey
2 tablespoons lemon juice
roasted garlic cloves

Slowly add 1/2 cup olive oil until combined.

And there you have it, folks. Magic roasted garlic vinaigrette. Try it on your cute jar salads.

Happy eating!

IMG_3350

This entry was posted in food and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

