mexican quinoa.

The fun is never ending over at my house. This week, Mexican quinoa was on the menu. Why it’s called that, I’m not entirely sure. I would label it myself under a Tex-Mex kind of category. Either way, it was delicious.

In my perusing of my Pintrest board, I picked this baby the night Jeremy has class. Although he is a lover of Mexican food, he isn’t always too keen on the super healthy super foods I put out. But this one turned out to be tasty, and good for you.

I started off by mincing two cloves of garlic and one seeded jalapeño. I put those in a nice deep pan with some olive oil and sautéed for just a minute or two:

IMG_3352
Then I added one cup of rinsed quinoa, one can of black beans, one can of roasted, diced tomatoes, and a cup of corn:

IMG_3353
Finally, I added 1 teaspoon of chili powder, 1/2 teaspoon of cumin, salt and pepper, and one cup of chicken broth. I put the cover on, and let it simmer for 20 minutes:

IMG_3354

Yes, it really was that easy. When all the moisture was cooked out, and the quinoa was fluffy, I took it off the burner, added the juice of a lime, a cup of chopped cilantro, and cubed avocado and stirred away.

IMG_3355

Yes, it really was just that simple. It has bold flavors, is really filling, and the avocado gives it some creaminess while the lime and spices give it some punch. I really enjoyed this recipe, and the best part was the simplicity. If you need a dish that’s fast and easy, but super tasty, give this a try. You will not be disappointed.

IMG_3356-0

Mexican Quinoa:

2 cloves of garlic
1 jalapeño, seeded

Mince both the garlic and jalapeño and simmer for a minute or two in olive oil. Choose a deep pan.

Add:
1 cup of chicken broth
1 cup rinsed quinoa
1 can black beans
1 can roasted, diced tomatoes
1 cup corn
1 teaspoon chili powder
1/2 teaspoon cumin
salt and pepper to taste

Cover the pan and let it simmer for 20 minutes, or until all liquid is absorbed. Remove from heat.

Stir in:
juice of one lime
cubed avocado
chopped cilantro

Serve warm, and eat up!

This entry was posted in food and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

