falafel.

I was inspired to make falafel. I was craving it, and excited about it. Now, this is an undertaking I’ve never done, but I thought it would be fun.

So we falafeled it up. They were simple enough to make, and very tasty. I mixed chick peas, cilantro, parsley, garlic and onions together in my good processor. I added salt, pepper and cumin and chop-chopped. They turned out a little more green than I planned, but they tasted great. I rolled them into balls and flattened them into patties, so they fit into the pitas nicely.

IMG_3375
I baked them in the oven for 22 minutes. While they were baking I made the dressing: tahini sauce, a little greek yogurt, garlic, lemon juice, salt and pepper. Mine was a little thick, so I added some water to thin it out.

Lastly, as a small side, I made a zucchini and corn salad. Super simple, and delicious. This might be better as a summer salad. It was fresh and crunchy. It would have actually gone well inside my falafel pitas too.

So, dinner was served, and it was a build your own falafel night. Healthy, delicious, and beautiful. Recipes below:

IMG_3378

IMG_3380

Falafel:
1 can chick peas, drained
1 small onion
4 cloves of garlic
4 Tbs parsley
4 Tbs cilantro
1 tsp cumin
1 tsp salt
1 tsp baking powder
4 Tbs flour

Add chick peas, onion, garlic, cilantro, parsley, cumin, and salt in a food processor. Pulse until smooth. Add your baking powder and flour to the mix and pulse more. Put in a bowl and refrigerate for a few hours.

Roll into balls on a sheet tray and bake for 22 minutes in a 400 degree oven.

Tahini Sauce:
1/3 cup tahini
2 Tbs Greek Yogurt
2 Tbs lemon juice
1/2 tsp garlic
1/2 tsp cumin
salt and pepper
water if too thick

Mix all the ingredients together.

Zucchini and Corn Salad:
2 zucchinis cut into bit size pieces
1 cup corn
olive oil
2 cloves garlic
1/4 tsp dried basil
1/4 tsp dried oregano
1/4 tsp dried thyme
salt and pepper
juice of 1 lime
2 Tbs cilantro
2 Tbs parmesan cheese

Cut up your zucchini. Add olive oil and garlic to pan. Cook for one minute until fragrant.

Add zucchini, corn and all the spices. Cook for about 5 minutes. Transfer to a bowl. Add lime juice, cilantro and parmesan. Serve.

Happy eating!

This entry was posted in food and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

