date night at fire and wine. 

There are only a handful of eateries that Jeremy and I frequent more than once. And if we do, it’s either because it’s the only cuisine of its kind around, or it’s just that good. And one of those places that is just that good is Fire and Wine in Glen Ellyn. 

I suggested it long ago for a party Jeremy was throwing, and it was so amazing, we have gone back together many times. An Italian spot that does wood fire pizzas, pasta and small plates, Fire and Wine is the greatest. The bar up front is friendly and comfortable, with a few TVs, but the back is typical Italian: loud, yet comfortable, has a family feel, but you’re at your own table, and wildly romantic. 

This particular date we went on was spontaneous, and one of the best we’ve had in a while. I treated myself to a martini and had the shrimp risotto. I had it on out first date there, says Jeremy, but through the nervousness of being there with him, and trying not to spill on myself, I don’t remember it. After my first bite, I don’t remember how. It was amazing. Salty, crunchy bacon with creamy, plump grains of rice. It came with several large shrimp and nice bitter radichio and peas mixed in. 



I got a little overwhelmed and realized part way through that I had to share this with all of you. 

If you’re in the Dupage area, stop by Fire and Wine in Glen Ellyn, if not only for a drink. You won’t regret it. And I’ll be back there myself, hopefully soon. 

This entry was posted in food and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

