strawberry season.

It’s that time of year again!  It’s strawberry season!  I sometimes wonder if strawberries are overrated and overused, but I can’t help it.  I love them.

I went to the grocery store yesterday, and I was going to make a chicken, asparagus and apple salad for dinner.  But when I got there, there were these beautiful, red juicy looking strawberries that I couldn’t live without.  There was a spur of the moment decision:  stick with the apples, or go with the strawberries?


I couldn’t decide.  The apples were on sale.  They were beautiful.  So, I went for both.  I decided on the strawberry and apple salad with grilled asparagus and grilled chicken.  The salad was really good, and very filling, but I can’t get over the strawberries.  I ate about half a dozen of them right out of the package as I was cutting them up.

With this lovely warm weather, I’m hoping this year brings upon us a bountiful strawberry season.  To all you grocery shoppers out there, check out your local strawberry selection, and enjoy those juicy berries!

This entry was posted in food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

