girl on a train. 

My recreational reading has gone downhill since my return to “school” days. But these last two weeks were PARCC testing at school, and that meant hours of sitting while kids took test. With that in mind, I ran immediately to Barnes and Noble to spend my secret santa gift card on a new book. 

I walked out with Girl on a Train, by Paula Hawkins, the New York Times best seller at the moment. I’m always curious when things get on this list, especially the top. Are they as good as they say? and who decides? And what happens to all the other books that go unread but are equally as good?–I digress. 



I wanted to see what made this book great. And I love myrder mystery books. And I will tell you, Girl on the Train was all of that. When I first started to read, the main character Rachel, was relatable to me. I love riding on the train and guessing peoples lives and trying not to act weird about looking at them and trying yo figure out their story. And then Rachel and my similarities stopped. And then I thought I related well to Jane, our second major character. She struggled with her passion, as I do. She is restless, maybe a little unhappy about her inability to find what she loves, and bored. I though, this woman captures what I feel.  And that’s where Jane and my similarities ended. Our third major character is Anna. All three voices are women, all of whom lead three completely polar lives. And somehow, by fate of a train ride, they all collide in one giant mystery. 

Fear not. We have men too, but I don’t want to give away any of our storyline. Nonetheless, I was captivated by this novel, and it took me almost no time to read. I couldn’t put it down. Hawkins does a great job of showing us different perspectives of events throughout the entire book. And she makes our characters so frustrating, so crazed, so pitiful, so annoying, and so noble that you can’t help but become a part of it. You want to shake the characters back to reality, comfort them, and yell at them. They truly come alive. 

If you’re looking for a good read, give this one a try. You will not be dissappointed.   



This entry was posted in books and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

