grilled eggplant sandwich.

Today was the day I conquered the grill.  I have been really afraid of it for a long time.  J had a meeting this evening, which meant that dinner was all up to me, and I was going to do this today.

So, I lit up the coals in my chimney and let them burn for a while.  I am too impatient for grilling.  But, when they were glowing nice and hot, and ready to be dumped, I dumped them into the base of the grill.

I charred up my peppers first, getting some nice black on them.  I sealed them up in a container and let them sit while I grilled my eggplant.  I tried my best for hatch marks, but it was my first time.  I also don’t think I used enough coals, or let them sit long enough in the chimney, so they weren’t quite hot enough.  Needless to say, I didn’t achieve any hatch marks, but I did grill them successfully.  My eggplant was marinated, and delicious.

Then began assembly.  I took ciabatta rolls (lightly toasted on the grill), and spread them with basil pesto.  I layered a little lettuce on the bottom, and my grilled eggplant medallion.  I sprinkled a little parmesan cheese on top of the egglplant, because try as I might, I can’t get rid of any cheese.  Then I put a nice layer of beefsteak tomato, and lastly my grilled peppers.

photo 1

I’m telling you right now, this was delicious.  J came home and wasn’t too pleased about a “healthy dinner” but was seriously satisfied when he bit into it.  Mostly, I’m excited about my use of the grill, but this sandwich turned out fabulous!  Enjoy!
The recipe I used follows:


Eggplant Marinade:
1/2 cup Olive Oil
4 cloves of minced garlic
1 Tbs soy sauce
1/2 tsp. Dijon mustard
2 tsp. lemon juice
2 Tbs. chopped parsley
salt and pepper to taste

Pour over the eggplant a few minutes before grilling and let it soak into the eggplant.  Save just a little bit.

Sandwiches:
1 bell pepper, seeded and quartered
1 eggplant, cut into medallions
1 beefsteak tomato, sliced
lettuce, or arugula
Basil pesto (for rolls)

Grill your peppers and eggplant.  Go for nice char marks on both.  I poured the extra marinade over the top of my grilled eggplant once it was done, just for a little extra.

Layer your sandwich.  Spread basil pesto onto your toasted bread.  Then begin layering your veggies onto your sandwich.  Slice and enjoy

photo 2

This entry was posted in food and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

