first day of school!

Today was the first day of school!

I can’t even describe to you how exciting today was.  First of all, I actually slept last night.  It may have been the glass of wine I had before bed that helped me drowsily fall into my slumber, but either way, I slept soundly.  And then when I got up and I was rushing around this morning, even though my clothes were all laid out, my lunch was maid, and my coffee was already cold-brewed.

Getting to school, I was so nervous.  I had a lot of things to get done before the kids arrived, and not a lot of time to get it done.  I had butterflies, but at the same time I was totally wired.  I was singing in the hallway, and waiting at the door; I shook every kid’s hand as they walked in.  I was really excited.

The kids this year seem really nice.  Definitely a rowdy bunch, but I can’t wait to work with them this year.  I sense a lot of personality and charisma in this group.  I also think that this year is going to bring a lot of learning for me.  I feel very lucky and very fortunate for that.

J promised to take a picture of me this morning, for my first day of school, but he went back to bed before he could fulfill his promise.  So, I have no first day picture for you.  But, I wore a great navy blue dress with nude heels.  If I couldn’t wear my Charger gear, I at least wanted to wear my Charger blue!

So, to all my fellow teachers out there, I hope you all had a great first day.  And if you haven’t started yet, I hope your coming first day is amazing.  I hope your year is filled with happiness, joy, and amazing kids.  I hope you have great learning opportunities, passion in your classroom and practice, and hope for the future!  Happy first day of school, everyone!

This entry was posted in life and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

