mc donalds spicy jalapeno chicken sandwich.

A couple of weeks ago, I saw a commercial for the McDonald’s jalapeno spicy chicken sandwich.  It is very rare that I am excited, or out of my mind about a fast food sandwich.  I try to make it a very big point of my life to not ever eat that kind of food, and so rarely do I crave it.

But I saw this commercial, and I was dying.  I wanted to try that sandwich so badly.  Last Friday I came home from school, and was in bed by 8:00 PM.  J hadn’t eaten by the time I went to bed, and he went out and got himself one of those sandwiches.  I was so jealous.

Needless to say, I decided to try to make a homemade, healthier, less processed version of this sandwich at home.  I bought myself some nice chicken thighs (I only used them because there were no good looking breasts at the store).  I breaded these bad boys with a breaded spice mixture, and roasted them in the oven.  I sliced some jalapenos, and smeared my onion roll with a greek yogurt, cilantro and garlic sauce that I made as well.

Let me just tell you, this was unbelievable.  I am often gun shy about cooking without a recipe.  I never trust myself, and I always feel like I’m going to screw it up and it’ll taste like crap.  This time, that was not the case.  I felt so confident I could remake that sandwich, I just winged it.  And it turned out soooo good.  J and I ate the crap out of those sandwiches, and both sat back in our chairs like….oh my god.

IMG_3794       

Here’s what I did:

Bread Crumb Mixture
1 cup bread crumbs (I used old bread crumbs J made from old bread and spices)
1 tsp. cumin
1 tsp. paprika
1 tsp. coriander
1/2 tsp. cayenne (more if you really like it spicy!)
1 tsp. salt
1/2 tsp. pepper

Mix together your breading.  I salted and peppered my chicken, and floured it easily on the cutting board I was using (I only made two sandwiches, because there are two of us).  I also made an egg wash with two eggs, salt and pepper, and a little kefir (for tang) and a small squeeze of dijon mustard.  After the chicken was floured, I put it in the egg wash, and then patted it into to bread crumb and spice mixture.

I baked my chicken in the oven at 350 until it was done.  When it was done, I added a slice of pepper jack cheese, and left it in there for about 30 more seconds so it got nice and melty.


Sauce

1 small container of Greek yogurt
1 clove garlic, minced
1 Tbsp cilantro
juice of one lemon
salt and pepper to taste

I mixed all this madness together.  I went lighter on the garlic, because I didn’t want it to take over the spicy flavor.  But, the cilantro and the lemon brighten it, and add a little acidity to our mixture here.  We need that to help cut our spice.

Then, I assembled.  I toasted my buns (hehe), spread them with the yogurt mixture, added my crispy chicken, and layered some beautiful sliced jalapenos.    And enjoy!  These bad boys were to die for.

If you have any suggestions, or modifications, please tell me.  This is a make again sandwich in my household!  I can’t wait to make this again, and indulge.  Enjoy, everyone!IMG_3795

This entry was posted in food and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

