family dinner. 

My parents and my brother came down tonight to have dinner with J and me. My parents have been here before, but this was my brother’s first visit. I was really excited to host them. They don’t always visit much, and I appreciated them taking the time to come down. 
Dinner was supposed to be something simple, but there was an irresistable sale on ribs I couldn’t pass up. I unfortunatley didn’t get a picture of them, but they were delicious. And in an effort to stay simple, I simply seasoned them with Penzey’s BBQ 3000 and wrapped them in aluminum foil and placed them in the oven. Easy-peasy. After two hours, I unwrapped and brushed with Open Pit barbecue sauce. They were fall-off-the-bone good. 
And for our side, I did roasted veggies. Simple, and delicious. The most exciting part is for the first time, I used rainbow carrots. They were beautiful and I was so thankful to getting to serve them to my family. Check out these babies:

Dinner was great, but the company was better. My parents just took a bike trip in Baja, and I know my dad was so excited to show me some pictures from their trip. We air played them on the television and ate dessert together. Even Maggie came. 
It was a great night all around. I was happy to have everyone here, in my house, eating, drinking and being merry. It was a great Saturday night. I’m a lucky girl. 
J and I don’t have a dishwasher, and this was the aftermath: 


definitely a mess, but totally worth it. happy saturday, everyone. 

  

This entry was posted in love and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

